Reinhold Ewald

Astronaut and Cosmonaut


Reinhold Ewald 2

Reinhold Ewald is a German physi­cist and ESA astronaut. 

Reinhold Ewald was born on December 18, 1956 in Mönchengladbach, West Germany. He received a Bachelor of Science degree in Physics from the University of Cologne and has a Master of Science in Experimental Physics. Ewald also grad­u­at­ed with a PhD in Physics and a minor degree in human physiology.

In 1990, Reinhold Ewald was select­ed to the German astro­naut team, train­ing for the Mir 92 mis­sion. In 1995 he began train­ing for the sec­ond German Mir mis­sion and in February 1997 he flew to the space sta­tion Mir with Soyuz TM-25, spend­ing 20 days in space. Ewald per­formed exper­i­ments in bio­med­ical and mate­r­i­al sci­ences, and car­ried out oper­a­tional tests in prepa­ra­tion for the International Space Station. 

In February 1999, he joined the European Astronaut Corps at the European Astronaut Centre (EAC) in Cologne, Germany. From 2006 to 2011, Ewald head­ed the Flight Operations Division with­in ESA’s ISS Operations depart­ment at the Columbus Control Centre near Munich. In this role, he direct­ed a team of ESA Mission Directors man­ag­ing the Columbus lab­o­ra­to­ry deliv­ery flight in February 2008 and the Columbus sci­ence activ­i­ties there­after. Reinhold Ewald served as an Advisor to the Head of Director General’s Cabinet at ESA’s head­quar­ters in Paris from 2011 to 2014, fol­lowed by a posi­tion at the European Astronaut Centre in Cologne, pro­mot­ing the sci­en­tif­ic achieve­ments of the ESA research pro­gramme on the International Space Station. In September 2015 he was appoint­ed as Professor for Astronautics and Space Stations at the Institute of Space Systems (IRS) at the University of Stuttgart. 

Reinhold Ewald received many awards, includ­ing the German Federal Cross of Merit (First Class) in 1997. Ewald is a mem­ber of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (German Physics Society) and the Association of Space Explorers. He is also a Full Member of the International Academy of Astronautics.